The language of dressage

When I first started riding dressage, about four years ago now, I was certain that I knew what dressage was all about: The Headset. I had seen it in the videos. I knew The Headset wasn’t easily achieved, and that it took a Good Rider to get The Headset. When I watched Grand Prix freestyles, I was perplexed as to the differences in scores from one ride to the next: they all had it, The Headset, so what were those judges seeing that I wasn’t? Every horse was beautiful, but why were some more beautiful than others?

[read more at Horse Junkies United]
Leave a Reply

